11 new integrated care systems confirmed

Sir Simon Stevens has confirmed 11 more parts of the country will be formally designated “integrated care systems” (ICS) from 1 April 2021.

There will be 29 ICSs, with the following areas forming:

1.  Norfolk and Waveney
2.  Bath and North East Somerset, Swindon and Wiltshire
3.  Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire
4.  Cornwall and Isles of Scilly
5.  Somerset
6.  Birmingham and Solihull
7.  Derbyshire
8.  Hampshire and Isle of Wight
9.  North West London
10. North Central London
11. North East London

Last week, the NHS announced it was seeking views on proposals to strengthen ICSs, including revised recommendations to the government for putting them on a statutory footing.

Sir Simon said: “Now is the time to accelerate on integrated care so we have strong health and care systems serving every part of the country. The past year has demonstrated the importance of joined-up working. This will be just as critical as we work together to address the wider social and economic consequences of the Covid pandemic.”

Amanda Pritchard, Chief Operating Officer for NHS England and Improvement said: “In our conversations with local leaders, staff and members of the public, a consensus has emerged for the need to accelerate collaborative working and to remove the barriers that remain.”

“We have seen that decisions taken closer to communities give better outcomes, and that collaboration between NHS, local authorities and the voluntary sector creates effective and proactive care and support.”