New single CEO announced for two London Mental Health Trusts

The CEO of Barnet Enfield and Haringey Mental Health Trust is to assume the role of CEO, at Camden and Islington Mental Health Trust, in addition to her current role.  

Jinjer Kandola, MBE, will take on the responsibilities of Camden and Islington in the autumn after her appointment was approved by both Trust boards and the council of governors at Camden and Islington. Both Trusts are currently working together closely on the Joint Mental Health Provider Review. 

BEH and C&I Trust Chair, Jackie Smith, said: “While we are extremely sorry to see Angela leave, Jinjer’s appointment is a hugely positive move for both our organisations.  

 “As part of the NHS Long-Term Plan, our aim is for our Trusts to work together much more closely in the future with local health, social care and voluntary partners. We want to integrate the services we provide and ensure that everyone across our five boroughs has equal access to the right care at the right time and with the right outcome for them. 

“A single Chief Executive across both our organisations will identify our wider, immediate priorities and ensure we work together seamlessly, reducing barriers and speeding up improvements.”

There are no plans to merge the two trusts and both will continue to operate separately.  

Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust Chief Executive, Angela McNab, recently left Camden, and Islington to take on a new position as Joint Senior Responsible Officer for the London Mental Health Transformation Programme. 

Sir David Sloman, Regional Director of the NHS in London, said: “Jinjer’s appointment is great news and will bring a wealth of experience to Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust and moves forward plans to work in collaboration to improve the mental health and wellbeing of local people. Angela leaves a fantastic legacy at the Trust and will be a brilliant leader of the London Mental Health transition programme.”  

Both Trusts have been achieved a score of “good” from the Care Quality Commission.